top of page

Raptor Capture, Some Red Tailed Tales.


There was some kind of post issue. 2nd try is a charm. If this takes you to the fox post please go to the blog to view the new Raptor bog.


A gorgeous Red Tail... Early morning just after dawn. I was in my stakeout spot under a large oak tree by an open tall grass field. Waiting for some breeding house finches with beautiful red feathers to land on a dead tree about 30 feet away to my 12:00. Tripod locked down and everything ready. This was the first day I test my new Yongnuo YN685 GN60 flash Early in the morning while it's still dawn. So that was all set up, ( Great Affordable flash.. see it here: https://www.feelinsnappy.com/gear ) I had been waiting for maybe 20 min. Then from my left I heard a Hawk scream. Saw at my 9:00 This Red Tailed Beauty is zig zagging down the ridge. Excited, I realize this guy is headed right toward me and I want this shot. Frantically I unlock the tripod trying to adjust my position and the camera at the same time. And this is very difficult and slower for me to adjust my position. But I guessed my settings for the camera, got it spun around, focused, and This is the first shot I got. This incredible bird landed on this tree about 30ft. away. I was only able to snap a couple of shots. Then flew up and over the ridge line leaving me checking my shots as soon as it left to make sure I got it. I Have been getting pretty lucky with Hawks So I have allot on my site to see and I'll be adding more on here. I highly suggest everyone get out and enjoy nature.


A young Red Shouldered Hawk Dinning on a Squirrel... A friend Stopped my wife and I while we were walking. He knows I Photograph allot. He pointed out this young Red shouldered Hawk That had just hunted down it's prey. Perched on a branch only about 4ft. from the ground; Gripping it's meal tightly with it's Powerful talons Ripping and swallowing. After a few minutes the young guy fell into the wind skimmed the ground and flew off to a more private dinning area. Leaving me thinking.. I really feel for the little squirrel but It's really great to see wildlife doing it's thing, and all that circle of life stuff. I am thankful for every chance I get to see awesome things.


Red tailed Hawks, It's Spring and mating season.

Sitting out I had seen a couple of hawks, all RT flying around but to high & above for me. I decided to photograph a really pretty black butterfly on some Yellow flowers in front of me. I don't remember the name of the BF.

so I'm focusing on the BF and I hear the hawks, and I find them just out in front of me doing their Ariel mating stunts. Amazing to watch. Or More like just really cool!

Anyway I decided to go B&W and Tone. It gave the shots a better look because of the tie of day this was shot and how bright the sun was. While I really love bright colors I still love to shoot B&W also. Completely different feels. There is more out there around your back yard than you think. Just relax have patience and enjoy the view. Scroll down for More images at the bottom.


I have started to post some images on twitter. You can follow me @feelinphoto .

You guys have a great day, and until next time, Keep on Snappin.


Using the links below will help me out. They may link to amazon or my Gear page

“As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.”

Thank You! For Helping Us Out.


These photos were shot with a Nikon D7500 & the Tamron 150-600m G2.



Capture One offers a great editor and a free trial to test it all out here:


Please use the link below to check out a great denoise app:


Lightroom offers a built in slideshow creator if you need to render a slideshow.


Now get out there and experiment, have allot of fun and I hope this helped you out a little. Take care and have a Snaptastic day. See ya in the next blog.


More to come! let me know if there is a subject you would like me touch on.









3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page